39th Annual Stand for Justice Gala

We celebrated our 39th Annual Stand for Justice Gala virtually on Saturday, September 14, 2019.

You can watch the recording here: https://youtu.be/XfkGcW40puA

Thank you to all our sponsors and supporters!

Our Honorees

Hon. Bruce Iwasaki
Hon. Bruce IwasakiOutstanding Community Service Award
Judge Bruce G. Iwasaki was appointed to the Los Angeles Superior Court in 2012 and sits in the Family Law Division. He currently hears family law trials at the Stanley Mosk Courthouse. In 2015 he sat pro tem on the California Court of Appeal. He has been a panelist on many legal education programs.

Before taking the bench, for most of his thirty-five year legal career, Judge Iwasaki represented low-income individuals and families in civil matters, including as executive director of the Legal Aid Foundation of Los Angeles. From 1988 to 1997, he was a litigator at O’Melveny & Myers, LLP, and from 2006 to 2012 was a litigation partner at Lim, Ruger & Kim, LLP.

Among his honors, Judge Iwasaki has received the Loren Miller Legal Services Award from the California State Bar; the John Minor Wisdom Public Service and Professionalism Award from the ABA Section of Litigation; the Antonia Hernandez Public Interest Award from the UCLA School of Law; the Pro Bono Civil Rights Award from the ACLU Foundation of Southern California; and the Humanitarian Award from the Inner City Law Center.

Judge Iwasaki has served on many organizations and boards involved in increasing access to justice, including the Commission on the Future of California’s Court System; the ABA Standing Committee on Legal Aid and Indigent Defendants; the State Bar of California Legal Services Trust Fund Commission; the California Bar Foundation; the Los Angeles County Bar Association Board of Trustees; the Sargent Shriver National Center on Poverty Law in Chicago; and the Center for Law and Social Policy in Washington, D.C.

Judge Iwasaki is a 1976 graduate of the UCLA School of Law.

Hon. Craig Mitchell, Mark Hayes, and Gabriele Hayes for the documentary, Skid Row Marathon
Hon. Craig Mitchell, Mark Hayes, and Gabriele Hayes for the documentary, Skid Row MarathonEthel Levitt Humanitarian Award
Hon. Craig Mitchell
Before he was a judge, Craig Mitchell taught high school in LA’s inner city for 16 years. His annual salary was $6,000.
After attending law school and passing the bar, he became an Assistant District Attorney in Los Angeles. In 2005 he was appointed to the Superior Court by Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger.
A defendant, whom the judge had sentenced to prison, approached him upon his release and asked him to visit him at the Midnight Mission, a homeless shelter where he was living. The Judge decided to start a running club believing that the discipline of running would have a positive influence on many at the mission. The Skid Row Running club was born.
The Judge trains anyone who shows up to run marathons. If they stay clean, off the streets, and out of jail he will take them to a foreign destination each year to run a marathon.

Mark Hayes
Mark Hayes studied documentary filmmaking at New York University under the renowned documentarian George Stoney. He produced and directed several documentaries including One Germany, The Other Side of the Wall (2011). Mark has taught screenwriting at Southern Methodist University and is a member of the Writers Guild of America.

Gabriele Hayes
Gabriele Hayes was born in the former East Germany. After the Berlin Wall fell in 1989, she moved to the US and now lives in Los Angeles.
Gabriele produced the documentary films One Germany, The Other Side of the Wall (2011), Soviet Jews in the City of Los Angeles (2013), and Skid Row Marathon (2017).
Gabriele also produces magazine shows for German television.

Gala Sponsors

Thanks to our Gala sponsors for supporting our cause and joining us in a celebration-filled evening.

Pillars of Justice

The Bill & Dinah Ruch Charitable Fund

Bruce A. Clemens and Brandi Roth

Signature Resolution

Sentinels of Justice

Atlantic Records

Gursey | Schneider LLP

Jaffe Family Law Group

Lawyers’ Mutual Insurance Company

Meyer, Olson, Lowy & Meyers, LLP

O’Melveny & Myers LLP


Hon. Jill S. Robbins (Ret.) and Robert W. Eisfelder


Hon. Aviva K. Bobb (Ret.) and Ian Russ

Blank Rome LLP

City National Bank

Feinberg, Mindel, Brandt & Klein, LLP

Leichter Leichter-Maroko LLP

The Levitt Family

Pines Law Group



Chet and Alison Kronenberg

Jacobson Scully LLP

Klopert & Ravden, LLP

Morrison & Foerster Foundation

MUFG Union Bank Foundation

Wasser, Cooperman & Mandles, P.C.



Frankel Reichman & Rizzo LLP

Ziva and Bill Naumann

Hon. Robert Schnider (Ret.) and Cantor Perryne Anker

White, Zuckerman, Warsavsky, Luna & Hunt LLP

Walzer Melcher LLP

Bonnie and Paul Yaeger